Some Cheese Rat?

cheese.jpgBesides the fact that I really love beer, I also greatly enjoy a good glass of wine from time to time. Since I’ve been keeping up with the blog, I’ve been opting for beer with my dinner, rather than wine. For the first time in several weeks I had a glass of amazing red wine and olives. It made me realize just how much I missed the pairing of wine, olives and cheese. I’m not a rat, but boy, I love cheese. It made me get to thinking about beer pairings. So later that night, I picked up some cheeses, some olives, and paired them up with the beer I had on hand – Dogfish Head‘s 90-Minute IPA.
While the gruyere & brie that I happened to pick up (not sure of what was in the fridgey atDogfish Ale home) weren’t perfect matches for the powerful flavor of the 90-minute IPA, tehy still tasted great together. My mild, but earthy gruyere went pretty good, but the IPA did really overpower the brie. And the olives? Well, I love a good olive, so maybe I’d be happy no matter what, but I really enjoyed the IPA/olive combo.
So there you go! We have our first pairing! It was definitely experimental, but I think that’s the fun way to do it. You can check out more on beer pairings at the useful Beer Advocate site. Let me know what your favorites are!

Leave a Reply

