Devilshly hoppy

hopdevil.jpgHow cool is it that when I go home, my dad greets me with a case of Victory Hop Devil. Just for me! So thanks dad! Now we get to review the Hop Devil!
Hop Devil is an IPA, to be technical, it’s an “American” IPA, and it’s one of my favorites. While Victory brews several celebrated beers like their Prima Pils and Golden Monkey, I’m a hop-head. I really like the rich, not overly bitter taste of this beer.
Appearance: Pours with a huge head (about 3 fingers initially) and a cloudy dark orangey/amber color. The head lasts for quite a while, but there’s not a whole lot of lacing.
Aroma: Rich and hoppy. There’s a sweet caramel and grain malt smell, but of course, the hops just about knock you down. The heavy smell of hops – citrus, pine, perfumes, grass – is the big smell here. There’s also a faint doughy smell and a little bit of alcohol smell lingering.
Taste: The hops in this beer are great! I’ve had some beers that are hoppier, but somehow Victory manages to make a SUPER hoppy IPA with out the bitterness being overwhelming. It’s a different, richer kind of bitter. You taste those hops right up front, then that rich malty flavor comes through and lingers. On exhale, the hops really bloom. While this beer is obviously hoppy, and made for the hop-head, the malts do a great job of keeping the flavor under control.
Mouthfeel: This is a medium body beer with a oily mouthfeel. Despite the giant head, I don’t sense a lot of carbonation.

The Facts:
ABV: 6.7%

1 Comment

  1. james said,

    April 12, 2007 at 8:23 am

    I have tasted Hop Devil before and to be honest I am not that crazy about it. I guess its like you said, you have to like the hops in this brew.
    I think you should go north to our neighbors in canada and taste test a few of there ales. I would really like to see what your take is on them.

    Thanks
    J


Leave a Reply

