Hefeweizen #1

Hefeweizen #1, Circus Boy, is sample #2 from Joe’s Garage. I can’t even remember the last time I had a Hefeweizencircus1.jpg so it was fun to revisit!
Appearance: Like your average everyday bottle conditioned Hefeweizen, Circus Boy pours cloudy, but REAL cloudy. I know I was a little rough on the pour with this one, but even after about 10 min. of settling time, still no clarity. I’d read on several other blogs about the great clarity, so it has to be me. Anyway, it still poured into a nice fizzy off-white head with a quickly diminishing head and had a great kind of murky, light orangey-gold color.
Aroma: Wow! This beer has it in the aroma category! My nose is overwhelmed in peachy/pear smells and a bit of alcohol, almost like a white wine. I can also pick up a citrusy smell in there too.
Taste: At first taste this beer has a kind of tart taste that quickly turns into hops. After that first nip, it fades to a nice malty-yeasty flavor. It’s pretty good and easy to drink. Would be great on a nice summer day. My only problem with this beer is that it’s got that amazing smell, but the taste doesn’t really live up to it. Short of that first super quick flavor burst (that was a little too tart for my taste), things fade out a little too quickly. While I wouldn’t turn my nose up at this beer, I definitely want to check out some other hefeweizens to compare.

The Facts
ABV: 5.4
IBUs: 18
SRM: 5.0
Gravity: 1.055

Leave a Reply

