Dogfish Head IPA

I’d never heard of Dogfish until my local beer store owner recommended this beer to me. It was a pretty good IPA!Dogfish Ale I can’t say it’s one of my favorite IPAs, but it was easy to drink and flavorful. This IPA had all the normal characteristics of your standard IPA, hoppy, citrusy, a nice balance of bitterness/malts. But it had this really strange aftertaste that was bothering me and I couldn’t quite place. After browsing through some other reviews, I found some people describing it as “piney”. I think that must have been what I was tasting is that pine flavor. Others seemed to like it but for me it was only so-so. While I’d give Dogfish Head‘s IPA a good rating, I don’t know that I’ll be picking it up all the time. Based in Milton, Delaware, the Dogfish Head Brewery’s tag line seems to be “Off-centered stuff for off-centered people“. The brewery also concocts what seems to be some pretty extreme brews. I think they’ve got my number in that area and maybe they’re better suited to these kinds of beers. Now I just have to figure out how to get my mitts on them!

The Facts:
ABV: 6%
IBU: 60

3 Comments

  1. james said,

    March 4, 2007 at 10:18 am

    this was a great beer. I loved the logo also. Sometimes when I try a new beer or wine I look at the art first. IPA,s have always been my favorites.
    Thanks

  2. Puffy said,

    March 5, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Thanks James,
    Dogfish Head Brewery puts a lot of emphasis on using local artists to create unique artwork for their labels. A lot of great micro breweries are taking advantage of promoting local artists in this way. Check out Dogfish Head’s own little spiel about the artist that creates their labels: http://www.dogfish.com/news/Rock_and_Roll_Label_Art/22/index.htm

  3. April 18, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    […] up some cheeses, some olives, and paired them up with the beer I had on hand – Dogfish Head’s 90-Minute IPA. While the gruyere & brie that I happened to pick up (not sure of what was in the fridgey at […]


Leave a Reply

